Garden Journal Chapter 11

Spring 2008 Update

I know we have had an incredibly warm winter so far but this is why I love this area.  You just never know what is going to happen!  These picturew were taken early this year, 1/12/08.  This yard is always active and sometimes over-active, lol. 

My Camellia is starting to bloom. Which does concern me a bit cause they usually don’t start up till February.

+++

The Oregon Grape (leaves look and feel like a holly), narcissus, snowbells and daffodils are starting to pop up. The Winter Daphne is, also, starting to bloom.  This is generally the right time of year because I, always, have the yellow blooms in winter on the holly and the great smell of the daphne.

 

 

+++

Just thought I would post this picture of my ferns which are tucked between the house and the shed. They are indigenous to this area so they are pretty healthy in their hiding place!

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    […] Just a couple of things to report on though.  We, my Hubby and I, did do our winter spray to protect the fruit trees and, then, a few weeks ago we sprayed again.  I am glad we did because just this week we are seeing the buds popping out on the plum tree.  Hopefully they won’t open till this last threat of snow is over.   Sadly, last fall the Winter Daphne bushes died. I had to dig them up and dispose of them.  Some blight or decease, I can’t identify, killed them.  I will miss their great smell in the late winter/early spring.  They were really pretty and I am thinking of replacing them but I think I might have the soil tested first because I wouldn’t want new plants to come down with the same unknown problem.  These bushes are pictured in the Garden Journal post number 11.  https://grouchow.wordpress.com/2008/08/30/garden-journal-chapter-11/ […]


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a comment