Generators and Nicholas Kristof

Recently I read an OP-ED article written by Nicholas Kristof, published in the New York Times, that really made me mad. The reason you might ask? He made me feel like I was grouped in with some sort of rich elitist because I had the foresight to buy a generator for home protection against storm threats.

 His article incorporated many issues, many of which I disagree with but I can only tell you from experience that I am neither rich and never was. I had been an independent cosmetologist for many years before I retired and I can assure you (my readers) and Nicholas that I never made much more than $20,000.00 net income. I retired last year, reasons I won’t go into but the current administration didn’t help.

 In the second paragraph of his article he says referring to generators, “Such a system can cost well over $10,000”. Not mine, unfortunately, I couldn’t buy one of those units which normally run on clean natural gas. I had to settle for one that runs on gasoline (quoting Nicholas “highly polluting”) and not on wind or solar. Lets face it wind and solar wouldn’t help me keep my sump pump running!

In his fourth paragraph he discusses, broadly, the failure of the electrical grid, which I could agree with. But, first, I think the government monopoly should step out of the way to let things get done with a free market and competitive attitude. That disastrous storm (Sandy) had nothing to do with the electrical grid inefficiency. All the power lines were washed away, broken and downed, along with the houses from the storm surge. Freakish but I doubt global warming.

Again he states “It would make more sense to invest those resources in the electrical grid so that it wouldn’t fail in the first place”.  I live in an area that is in many hurricane paths.  I am not rich and now on a fixed income, my home was gifted to me by my mother as my inheritance while she was living so the wonderful government wouldn’t penalize us both with taxes. Quite frankly, after the first year I lived here, it didn’t take but one flood (during Nor’easter) in the basement for me to have a light bulb go off and think that the next thing on the list to install was a sump pump! Next major thing on the top of the needs list was a generator to keep the sump pump running. Just in case the next flood came from a hurricane. I had to save up for it for a couple of years and I got one that is big enough to run the refrigerators, freezer, lights. I’ll be cold because the generator isn’t big enough to provide heat but at least I’ll have food. Using my extra resources, I considered the investment in a generator as common sense!

The last half of his article goes in many directions:

Global warming-my response, I haven’t been convinced yet.

Infrastructure-my response, true because both Democrats and Republicans can’t seem to focus and they keep spending money on stupid things like watching a shrimp walk on a treadmill, studies and regulations on toilets that don’t flush and bridges and trains to now where. They are good on waste for sure.

Crime problem-my response, how many policemen would you need to reign in the crime in Detroit?

Public schools-my response, just how many teachers do you want per student? One on one? And, just how many fat cat politicians in Washington DC have their kids in DC’s public schools? Not even Pres. Obama sends his girls there and he took away a new and improved school system that parents liked.

Public libraries-my response, remember the internet? Children have access to books with modern technology. Even the government is providing computers and i-pads or whatever is available.

Public parks-my response, it is just another way of government confiscating more and more land so it cannot be privatized. Oh, and have you heard of  UN Agenda 21?

Public playgrounds-my response, I would suggest that local governments spend their allotted monies more wisely and, again, get rid of the waste.

Chad, Pakistan, Mitt Romney and the likes of Public Broadcasting in the same paragraph-my response, give me a break with big bird, Romney lost, Chad & Pakistan high walls and glass shards??? What has one to do with the other?

Poverty-my response, our poor are doing a whole lot better than the poor in, say… Chad. Poor girl in Pakistan, who was shot for wanting education, does Malala Yousaf remind you? I think our poor with food and amenities have it a whole lot better.

Fiscal Cliff-my response, I’ve already voiced my sentiments on a previous post.

Tax rate lower than secretaries-my response, that is so misleading and has been throughout the champagnes. Since most people don’t understand the difference between gross, net and assets a person has already paid taxes on. Heck, lets bring that death tax back. I’ll be penniless before these guys (Senators) up on the hill can even come up with a darn budget. Unlike, my household.

And last but not least, Inequality-my response, I like inequality. That alone always made me work harder to achieve because I wanted to be rich. Unlike the politicians in the Capital who get their paychecks from the taxpayer and manage to exempt themselves from capping their own salaries and exempting themselves from what they impose on us, like Affordable Health Care!

There, I have vented and I am happy I have a meager generator. Better yet, Nicolas, I would even run a plug over to my neighbor’s homes if they needed the help to keep their food from spoiling.  I call it Sharing the Power.  You would call that sharing with the collective.

3 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    I have 4 of these meager generators . . . . not sure how I got so many but we did. Just found some good deals, I guess. Yup, we’ve used ’em. Had an ice storm Thanksgiving day years ago that put us out of power for over a week. Knocked all the huge power lines down. And we’ve used one several times since, although not as long. I guess you might say I don’t have to share the plug, I can share the generators!!

    As usual, you did an awesome job. This Nicholas character needs to get his head out of . . . . . . . the sand.

  2. 2

    Well, personally, we have 4 of these meager generators . . . . . yup, the ones that run on gasoline. Not sure how I got so many but we have ’em.

    Quite a few years ago, we had a terrific ice storm that knocked all the BIG power lines down and we were without power for about two weeks. We didn’t have but a small generator that we shared with my in-laws, trying to keep the freezers going.

    Now, we have 4. Enough to share a generator if not a plug!!

    As usual, you are on the ball. This Nicholas character needs to get his head out of . . . . . . . . . . . the sand.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

