2012 Debates and an Independent Voter

I consider myself to be a independent voter, have been for years and years. I might add that I have gotten grief for that too because people have always told me I’m waising my vote.

The 2012 scheduled debates are really looking like a joke to me. What morons set these up? Blushing. I just found out, Commission of Presidential Debates. This commission states that they are non-partisan. I don’t believe that after I have read about who, what, where and when these debates are going to be laid out.

 I really have issues with the chosen moderators. Jim Lehrer (Host of NewsHour on PBS), Martha Raddatz (ABC News Chief Foreign Correspondent), Candy Crowley (CNN Chief Political Correspondent), and Bob Schieffer (Host of Face the Nation on CBS). All are liberal leaning to one degree or another. This commission couldn’t find one moderator that might be an independent, conservative or even a little younger? I was under the impression that the two major parties were trying to win over the independent voters out here in the real world.

When I heard that the debate questions were going to be screened and that the moderators, as liberal as they are, were not going to be allowed to ask questions about certain topics like the economy, maybe! What kind of crap is that? Get real. Why bother having debates if the questions and answers people want to hear about are not going to be allowed. What are the moderators going to ask about? What necktie, football/basketball, dogs, grannies over cliffs or what was had for lunch?

You would think that the press/moderators would be really ticked off! Talk about control, when the press cannot ask pertinent questions related to the whole of our economy.

As an independent I sure would like to hear what ALL party candidates have to say about serious issues, not just the fluff. The devout Democrats and the devout Republicans are going to vote their party affiliation. But, I for one, want to hear both sides and if moderator’s questions are squelched, what is the point of a debate? The media should be able to ask important questions to all four of the party candidates (President Obama, Mitt Romney, Joe Biden, Paul Ryan). Just ask the darn hard questions and let us independents make up our own minds.

Outrageous nonsense!

6 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    I will agree but with circumstances being what they are, I already KNOW who I’m NOT voting for . . . . four more years and there won’t BE an America.

    Good post as always, Ace!!

    • 2

      grouchow said,

      @KK….. I just try to make peeps think about some of the stupidity. I can’t agree with you more but I think it is a waist of big bucks to hold debates that are really useless if they don’t ask the candidates the hard questions then let us, the people, figure it out. I am tired of vague from the news media. Pitiful.

  2. 3

    catalpa220 said,

    The Dems quite frankly are afraid they are going to lose if they can’t control the debates…. I wonder why the Republicans don’t refuse to debate under those circumstances. They will be a waste of time to watch.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

