Parenting Challenges Today

Parenting Challenges Today

I would hate to be a parent now-a-days. The rules and idiotic regulations imposed on children and parents is becoming exhausting!  I couldn’t imagine being a young parent starting out in today’s times.  It seems to me that as a parent you just, continually, have to look over your shoulder to make sure you aren’t doing anything wrong. This is not to say that there aren’t very, very bad parents walking the streets!  I still think that most parents care for and love their children.

I mean, it starts with the baby in the womb.  If you even get this far.  You go to the OBGYN or Family Doctor and from the get go you are told what you can eat, drink and do, otherwise you might do irreparable damage to your unborn child. Changing your life style to the extreme.  The powers that be have made pregnancy into something that is nearly considered life threatening. Get tests for every stage of the pregnancy. I’m beyond the childbearing years but I remember what ridicule I had to endure because I wanted to have a baby Lamaze and trust me when I told people I preferred home delivery, that was a no no.  Breast feeding, I was called extreme! Thank goodness I had a good family for support.  Child bearing and pregnancy  is a very natural process, women were built for the event!

You bring the baby home and right away you have to have the right crib, play pin, car seat, the list goes on and on. There were many children that lived through a side drop down crib. If you are fortunate enough to find a common sense Pediatrician, you are lucky!  All to often, I feel, these guys are dosing your kids with things they may or not need.  I am really concerned about all the mandated injections! Don’t get me wrong I agree that certain childhood diseases have been stopped but I have doubts about giving immature children medications that alter their mind state.

THEN….. the Kids go to school or should I call them a warehouse or a prison!? Walking through the door to be scanned, frisk, cameras watching, all in the name of “Protection”. (Hum, are cameras in bathrooms now?)  Don’t bring any toy that looks like it might hurt another child.  No hugs from a Down Syndrome child because that is sexual harassment, no pizza unless it is considered a vegetable, food gestapo checking children’s lunch boxes to make sure the kid’s parent has sent appropriate food to school! Did anyone ever bother to ask where the food is coming from?  If your local area is anything like ours the food the cafeterias use is brought in from outside big kitchens and the staff most normally just heat food. So are the school systems providing GMO Foods? Genetically re-engineered foods from Monsanto! And providing loads of Canola  (processed rapseed) because butter or olive oil is not better.  No naming of Holiday’s unless they are totally benign and secular. No salt, no sugar, no soda. No clothing or a gift from a birthday party because they don’t want to offend other children who weren’t invited to the party.  Give a trophy to all the kids and, hell, just pass them because they might feel bad if they got an E (failing grade).  Awe poor baby shouldn’t feel like a dummy even if he/she is!!

By the time the kids get to Middle and High Schools things get even worse. Then, of course you’ve got the real clothing wars.  Have to hang out shopping, and standing in long lines to get the best Nikki’s, Ipods, and cell phones with text so they can talk till they drop or maybe even use that device to cheat on a test.  Hum, nah, parents know that they have to give their kids phones for security.  Who has the best technology?  Here, I do think that parents have to take responsibility. However, parents have been told what to do so often that they have lost touch with reality and common sense too. Crap, I didn’t give my children a labeled shirt until it was Christmas. Even if that item was affordable. Tennis shoes used to be tennis shoes that were cheap till they slapped a label on them!!

Higher Education. Colleges and Universities stress that registering students have to have a computer. Heck, if this government can entitle free cell phones to the poor why can’t they provide a free computer for each student that registers? (sarcasm)  Of course the Professors have a great record too.  Try getting a used book. OH what is that??  Professors get great kick back kudos by promoting new books each season, at great expense to the family of the student. Then, of course, parents aren’t even allowed to see their child’s grades because they are adults now and privacy laws apply. Yet, coming soon, parents will have the distinct pleasure of insuring their young adult till the age of 26.   I can’t imagine what a parent will think when this hits home.  All these things would probably scare any young person from NOT having a child.  It is lot to think about and, today, I sure would have second thoughts. (Sarcasm – instant birth control.)

Teachers and Administration’s running our public schools have lost all sense of reason because they are so scared of the regulations and lawsuits.  I don’t know what their problem is considering they are mostly tenured and can’t loose their teaching jobs, even if they are in the infamous rubber rooms getting paid for nothing.

You’ve got all this crap going on with Debbie Squires telling parents they don’t know how to take care of their own children and teachers know better!  Gee what hootsba. Ms. Squires statement, a video on YouTube because this Huffington Post removed the original version. The Nazi’s, Communists and Chinese (one child per family) and even Islamic Sharia have put teachers and others in charge of the children. It is called indoctrinate them when their are young. If you are a parent pay close attention on the history that is being taught!  (Oops, I forgot, Chinese and Sharia doesn’t recognize a girl much). Then, of course, there is the sex education!  The parent should decide what to tell a child and when. Watch out what your young children are exposed to by Planned Parenthood! Horrible videos. It is old news from 2008 but still relevant that President Obama has said “Look, I got two daughters — 9 years old and 6 years old,” he said. “I am going to teach them first about values and morals, but if they make a mistake, I don’t want them punished with a baby. I don’t want them punished with an STD at age 16, so it doesn’t make sense to not give them information.”  I wonder if he let his girls watch one of those Planned Parenthood videos?

What is wrong with Congress?  Have they lost all their power? Can’t they put a stop to all these Czars and Agencies that are putting out these crazy regulations? Congress stop the insanity and leave the child rearing to the parents.

This election cycle has brought up race, faith, and abortion (again), no more than talking points if our Constitution still valid. Congress needs to get on point and concentrate on the economy! But, this topic is for another day.

My thoughts and opinions might upset people but they are my thoughts, they don’t have to be yours. I guess I have just lived long enough to see too many changes that I don’t think are good. If you have comments please keep them  clean. Thank you.

5 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Jim said,

    I totally agree!

  2. 2

    Jim said,

    I totally agree!!

  3. 4

    Oh, my, where do I begin??

    Ace, I agree with you and more!

    My opinion?

    My sister had a dresser drawer for a crib. I slept at one end of the bed, my brother at the other. It didn’t kill us!! We made do with what we had!

    My parents taught me that it was WRONG to kill an unborn child, mistake or not! They taught me that if I did make a mistake, I was the one to correct it. Not them, not the government, not the neighbors, but me.

    I have NEVER asked my parents for anything, not because I didn’t think they would give it to me but because they taught me “You made your bed, now lie in it.” And I am proud to say that I have stood on my own two feet, sometimes not too steadily but I did it!

    As far as schools are concerned, everything is “make the poor child feel better about themselves”. It is no longer a place to learn reading, writing and arithmetic, but a social experience. Kids can do no wrong, poor little things!! There is no accountability for the kids OR the teachers!

    We now drug the kids to keep them quiet and complacent and drug the old people to keep them quiet and complacent.

    My dad, who is 96, firmly believes that euthanasia, forced, is around the corner for people. Not to put them out of their misery but to allow the younger generations to flourish without having to take care of the older people.

    A pastor, in Des Moines, had his family threatened with bodily harm because he dared to put on the marquee, Gay is not Okay. This was for his Sunday sermon. He was not preaching hatred against people but the practice.

    However, after he received threatening emails and phone calls, threatening his family, he had to take it down. Our country is now fully engaged in making sure that our kids understand that homosexuality is the way to go, no matter what the Bible teaches.

    I happen to agree with him. Homosexuality is a hot topic but I believe it to be a sin, just like murder, lying, adultry, stealing and others. Do I hate people that are gay? No. If I hated everyone who sinned, I’d be in a very lonely place, now wouldn’t I? And I certainly am not free of sin, myself.

    Our country has largely become amoral, which is being outside or beyond the moral order or a particular code of morals. Anything and everything is ok today. Our children are growing up WITHOUT any conscience.

    Well, I recall that the Roman Empire was once a great empire until they fell apart from the inside out which is exactly what is happening to our country today.

    Okay, maybe I got carried away!! Very good post, Ace!!

    • 5

      grouchow said,

      @KK…Awesome, you reminded me of the teaching of my step father, who was a history buff. He always studied empires that had fallen and the Roman’s were big in his course of conversation! Thanks for the response!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

