Toilet Paper – Poser

OK, so lets talk…

Toilet Paper!

Do Manufacturers actually think we were born yesterday?  With, maybe, NOT an observant bone in our bodies!  I have been buying Quilted Northern Toilet Tissue for a very long time because when I started buying it there was quality and the price per square sheet was the best compared to all the other brands.  Now, don’t get me wrong, I still like the quality of the toilet tissue and still purchase Northern. 

It is just that I really resent the CON.  Go up on the price, that is normal and I can handle that.  Being up front and honest about a price change doesn’t bother me.  What bothers me is that whoever works for Northern Marketing thinks they are slick when they get double the money by making the cardboard roll, that holds the tissue, larger too!  I measured an older cardboard tube and it measured approximately 44 centimeters then I measured the new cardboard tube and that measured approximately 47 centimeters!

In my book they may not be getting double the total price  (I haven’t measured the sheets lost.)  but to give less per roll and go up on the cost sure isn’t hurting their net profit! 

Example:  Back in the day there used to be small, medium and large eggs.  Manufacturers realized that the small eggs weren’t selling as well so they reclassified the eggs to medium, large and extra-large.  And then came the JUMBO.   Ha ha ha, a chicken can only lay an egg just so big.  Get it any bigger and you will get a goose egg!!! Then think about it…. What happened to the small egg?  They are still there but now they are called mediums.  When was the last time you saw “small” eggs for sale at a grocery? 

Think about it big manufacturing boys, we buyers do know what your up to.  I would just prefer you be upfront and honest and just put the higher price on your products.  Don’t use the little increment cons.  

Don’t get me started on canned products, those guys are just as bad!  BP is going down now.  Have a great day.

13 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    chateycathey said,

    You certainly choose some topics that have an interesting side. My big complaint is with cereal boxes. Do they really think we are stupid or that we just don’t see that the box is twice as big as needed for the cereal we buy.

    • 2

      grouchow said,

      I guess they don’t think anyone notices these minuet changes. And maybe younger folks just don’t care. To me it is just like lying. Tell me the cost and stop wasting the packaging. Talk about environment. Look at all those boxes we don’t need 😀

  2. 3

    dj said,

    yepper. 1st they change 3# can of coffee to about 45 ounces. Just noticed couple of weeks ago that the big cans of coffee afe only 39 ounces now and the price raised. no wonder the coffee doesn’t go as far or grocery money.

  3. 5

    Z'anne said,

    Very well put! My cereal boxes used to be bigger. I had to put them on their sides in my cupboard. Now I can up them upright. Higher prices, less product, pissed customer. I’m buying less and spending more. I’m thinking of making my own crackers.

  4. 7

    Yes, I noticed that the squares were smaller when I realized I no longer had to pinch to get the old roll off the holder!!! What a rip!! They are all doing it!!

    Thank you for pointing it out. And you’re right . . . . I HAVEN’T seen small eggs in a mighty long time!!!

  5. 8

    Judy Dery said,

    Oh, Ace if yer not a corker!!! I was waiting for you to expound on how many sheets you use. Some hollywood chickie was saying we needed to save the earth and only use 1 sheet. You use 1 sheet then you’re using more soap and wasting more water using the nail brush to git it all clean.

    I take 22 different prescriptions for all my afflictions…takes a whole drawer to put all those bottles. Big bottles for 30 teeny tiny pills. Why do they do that? Really rocks my hide! Ace, at least you can tell us how you feel and then just sit back real smug like and know you’re right!! You rock:)

    • 9

      grouchow said,

      @Judy, hollywood chickie was saying we needed to save the earth and only use 1 sheet !!! You’ve got to be kidding. You are probably right, though, whoever that chick was probably has a contract advertising soap and water HAHAHAHA – Those plastic bottles, well think of it this way…. they have to use those petroleum by products somewhere, we wouldn’t want out garbage dumps getting to small. *rolls eyes*

  6. 10

    Sandy said,

    My wife and i were so happy Chris could finish off his homework by way of the precious recommendations he made through the site. It’s not at all simplistic to simply be giving freely methods which many people could have been trying to sell. So we acknowledge we have got the writer to thank for that. Most of the explanations you have made, the easy web site navigation, the relationships you assist to instill – it is mostly fantastic, and it’s really leading our son in addition to our family recognize that this content is satisfying, which is incredibly mandatory. Many thanks for all!

  7. 12

    Joesph Brendlinger said,

    Great article and very informative. Thanks for taking the time to write it and post it!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

