What’s up with my Dishwasher?

My dishwasher is not old!  It has been working fine but lately I seem to be scrubbing my dishes, pots and pans more.  Plus, I’m using more water to get them scrubbed.  In the not so distant past I could load stained coffee cups and dishes and they would come out clean.  Now there is residue and the inside of the cups still have coffee stains.  I can’t believe I have to scrub cups!  Glasses, give me a break!  If I’m going to have to do all that I may as well just wash and rinse them the old-fashioned way, by hand.  Geeeeezzz

I was complaining to a friend of mine about this and she said that companies have been told by some agency,  in the government, that the formula in dish washing powders had to be changed.  I have always used a product called Cascade but that just isn’t working anymore.  I surfed the web and found that the phosphates have been removed.

Is that what made the dishes clean?  I don’t know but I am wondering why are we supposed to go backwards in time?  Can’t someone develop a product that doesn’t hurt the environment and can be used to make dishes clean?

I am lousy at key words for surfing the internet, so chime in with information.  Thanks

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    fleapirates said,

    It’s not your dishwasher!

    I found this old blog about getting dishes clean… maybe there are some tips in here that you haven’t tried! : http://flyladyforum.blogtalkradio.com/index.php?showtopic=2836

    And here’s an article from the NY Times for you… about the new phosphate-free products. http://www.nytimes.com/2010/09/19/science/earth/19clean.html

    And complaints at Cascade: http://reviews.cascadeclean.com/8666/3700033836/ratings/reviews.htm?page=6&sort=submissionTime

    Good luck!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

