What is in our Food – A Poser

I watched a documentary, recommended by a friend, that I rented from Netflix. It was called Food Inc. filmmaker, Robert Kenner. After watching this documentary I could see that there were a few agendas that were being subtly touted.  Illegal aliens, unions, corporations.  I don’t necessarily agree with everything in this documentary but I do try and stay open minded when watching such movies because you always have to see both signs of a coin.

I am a proponent of free enterprise and capitalism but I can see, after watching this movie, that there are some serious flaws in the system. (Whats new?)  These flaws,  mostly due to government officials allowing so much of the abuse to happen because they are in the pockets of some of larger corporations.

It is outrageous to know that our U.S. farmers are being controlled or put out of business if they don’t comply with strict rules. Genetic design and patents. Corn products in just about everything! Wow.

After watching this movie,  I know I have been right to avoid some of the produce that comes from other countries and I do grow my own vegetables when I can.   I stopped eating produce that wasn’t in season and produced in the United States a long time ago because I don’t know what chemicals are being used in South America or in the containers where the produce ripens.  I just didn’t know that I was going to have to seriously keep an eye out on everything else.  If  it is grown in a foreign country we should be aware, don’t you think?

I rented the DVD from Netflix but you can also see the whole movie in its entirity at YouTube This is the link to the Movie on YouTube.  Food, Inc. covers a lot of territory and I really was enlightened.

This is a short movie trailer,  also,  provided by YouTube.com

10 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Very interesting. I have been getting more & more paranoid about the food I purchase. I already avoid buying food I know comes from other countries but so much of it doesn’t tell you where it’s from. Even canned and prepared foods may contain foods from elsewhere but you can’t tell. We too grow as many of our veggies as possible. It’s scary. I just really want to eat food from places that are so contaminated they would glow in the dark or where feces is used for fertilizer, doesn’t everybody??

  2. 2

    vermonter53 said,

    My mother thought 50 years ago that all the cancer we had just begun to see ..(although it was relatively rare when I was a kid)..and other diseases as well were caused primarily by the food we eat. I agree with her 100% Look at history.

    Growing up we grew or raised most everything we ate. We even had home made bread everyday.

    I tell people, truthfully, I haven’t had good tasting chicken since I left home. We bought chicks in February or March and had fresh organic eggs and chicken that was second to none.

    Sadly, today much of what is touted as organic or… “all natural”…(which many assume means Organic)… which it does not at all mean! in my opinion really isn’t organic.

    Organic label in my opinion,… in many cases….I believe, is a way of jacking up the price. Lets face it, bananas aren’t grown in this country so they need to be dusted for spiders/insects coming into this country, so how can they be sold as organic? at often twice the price??

    • 3

      grouchow said,

      Vermonter53… I agree, organic IS a way to jack up the price. I wish local farmers would be able to sell directly to grocery stores again but because of all the rules and regulations, the farmer no longer can. Grocers have to buy from their distributor’s. Safety safety, boo hoo. When I was a kid we had a farmer selling produce they grew come buy with a horse and cart, eventually he got a truck. Prices were always reasonable too!

      • 4

        vermonter53 said,

        We also got fresh whole milk from the tank in a local farmers milk house in a 5 gallon stainless steel milk bucket. Not so sure that is a good idea but we never got sick from it.

        Matter of fact, I can’t remember really being sick as a kid. Used to get poison ivy every summer which was pretty bad but rarely ever not feeling well? Other kids had “doctors appointments”? What were those?
        My mother always said if you can keep from going to the doctor you were much better off because doctors offices and hospitals were where all the sick people were so you could catch something. 🙂

      • 5

        grouchow said,

        Those were the days when there weren’t crazy people on the loose. People used to be more honest and didn’t want to do ill will on unsuspecting consumers. People were generally honest and most folks certainly didn’t go to a lawyer and sue the farmer if they got one bad egg or the milk was spoiled. The farmer just replaced the product. I loved those days. I remember when I could buy day old bread so much cheaper. Now, around here at least, it all has to go to the food banks. So much for a little savings in your pocket.

  3. 6

    vermonter53 said,

    The biggest problem is the Food industry as is the health …industry…. ( HEALTH CARE SHOULDN’T BE AN “INDUSTRY”)….
    is fueled by GREED!

  4. 7

    Supergranny said,

    I do not want more government regulation of anything. I don’t want to be lectured about the inhumane killing of chickens(etc) in the factories…I remember as a small child watching my grandparents wring the neck of a chicken so we could have it for dinner. Was I shocked…no, it was fresh and always delicious.

    If folks want to be vegetarians, it’s OK by me….you can eat what you want…but…DO NOT infringe on my right to chose for myself what I eat, I truly prefer local produce, meat, dairy, etc, which we can generally get all summer. In the winter, we have the supermarkets & Walmart for shopping. Not my first choice, but I will buy and enjoy Mexican tomatoes, strawberries, asparagas, etc for the winter months. They are delicious and nutritious…I make sure they are washed thoroughly.

    Just because someone made a movie about how bad corporations and big business are supposed to be and how good Unions are…does not make it so. Be a thinking American and do some research.

    • 8

      grouchow said,

      I agree, with you. That is why I said I take everything I read with a grain of salt. I didn’t like the implied comments about big business and corporations and unions either. I do like to see both sides of an issue so I can make good choices. Even if I don’t agree with all of this movie, the genetic engineering does give me room for pause. And how they are screwing over our country’s farmers. 🙂 Thanks for the comment. BTW I like steak too. Bought one for tonight. Yum.

  5. 9

    Chvad SB said,

    “If folks want to be vegetarians, it’s OK by me….you can eat what you want…but…DO NOT infringe on my right to chose for myself what I eat,”

    That has nothing to do with the point of the film. It’s about how to do things responsibly and with regards to both your health and living conditions of other animals.

    “I don’t want to be lectured about the inhumane killing of chickens(etc) in the factories…I remember as a small child watching my grandparents wring the neck of a chicken so we could have it for dinner.”

    Sure fine. My mom chopped up chickens as well. No issue. If every chicken died like that it’d be dandy but it is a FACT, not an opinion that they don’t. You don’t care about an animal suffering after it has it’s legs removed and living in a cage with no room to move? Fine, that’s your option. However, if you ARE going to be self-centered about the situation then you should, at the very least, be concerned about the VOLUME of antibiotics being pumped into that chicken to keep it alive. It goes into the products made by that animal and directly into YOU.

    “enjoy Mexican tomatoes, strawberries, asparagas, etc for the winter months. They are delicious and nutritious…I make sure they are washed thoroughly.”

    Also be cautious of this… pesticides and DDT based chemical LEECH into food. They are INSIDE the food. Not just on the outside. Strawberries are especially susceptible to this as are most leafy greens.

    • 10

      grouchow said,

      Yes, I thought the film gave room for thought. Like I said, I didn’t agree with all of it but it does certainly make you think about what you are eating and what you are putting in your body that you don’t even know about. Thanks for your good reply. 🙂


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

