Garden Journal – Chapter 26

What’s up with the Birds in my yard?

My back yard and fruit trees have turned into a nursery for baby birds.  In the last chapter I spoke about being attacked by the Robins.

This time it is the Cardinals.  Their little one flew the coop yesterday and I got a few snaps on the camera.  I wasn’t attacked this time because this wasn’t my fault.  A squirrel was the culprit!  Again, the parents were just busy feeding and guarding the little one.  My oh my, I have certainly learned something about birds this spring!  Things I never knew.

The parents are just so wonderful at protecting their young.  These two kept an ever watchful eye and kept the squirrels and Blue-jays away.  While making sure their little Tyke didn’t go hungry.

I have put some arrows pointing to the birds because I had to keep my distance.  I didn’t want to scare anyone.

Mom and Dad Cardinals keeping a watchful eye, making sure their little one was protected.

Little Cardinal is at the bottom trying to spread his little wings. Dad is vigilante.

8 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    thetikishak said,

    Great Picks!!!! That is so cool to be able to watch the progress of the babies right from your own backyard!! I’m sure it keeps your cats entertained for hours!!!!! Thanks for sharing!

  2. 3

    fleapirates said,

    Wow, you’ve had a great bird watching spring! I love cardinals!

    Keep those pics coming! 🙂

  3. 5

    catalpa220 said,

    Your yard is a real “birdland”. Yesterday morning we had little baby hummingbirds – smaller than my little finger come to our feeder for breakfast! They would eat and then rest on an old wicker chair back just off our deck. Still can’t figure out where their “home” is located. Wonder if they nest in trees or if they are just nomads?

  4. 7

    thetikishak said,

    Hi Ace, so what’s new with your feathery friends??? Did baby bird “fly the coop”??? Inquiring minds want to know!!!!

    • 8

      grouchow said,

      Tiki…Most of them…… But we still have some slow starters. The second Family of Robins in the peach tree. I’m still waiting to prune the new growth back. I’m not getting near the tree because I don’t want to get attacked again, lol


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

