Garden Journal – Chapter 25

Birds – A Robin Story

The other day I went out into the yard to prune some spring growth from my fruit trees.  The theory here is that the fruit will get more nourishment and become larger.

I got out the ladder and the pruning shears and began.  I knew there was a Robin’s nest in the tree but I didn’t think that I was very close and I, certainly, had no intention of disturbing the family.  Well, I guess I did get too close because, as I was trimming, all of a sudden a “thud” and  I got slammed and beaked on the head by one very angry momma or papa! 

I had no clue that Robins could be so vicious.  Here I am on a ladder and both birds were attacking me. I ran into the patio and I looked down on my on my arm and saw blood.  At first I thought it was one of the birds but soon realized it was me. I went in a cleaned up. Then I worried that the Robin that had hit me in the head might have injured them-self.

I went back outside to check things out and got chased back into the patio by both birds.  They were still making quite a fuss.  Then, I saw why.  Their teenage baby had jumped out of the nest!!  Oh my, I was really worried that they would abandon their bouncing teen.  Flapping wings and jumping around the entire yard all the rest of the day.  Much to my suprise, those two parents did not give up the ship but keep a watchful eye on their baby’s location at all times.  It started to shower all the rest of the day and into the night.

The next morning I kept looking for activity.  I did see the parents but I didn’t see the baby.  Then, the Hubs went out and got attacked.  He got too close to the teenager too.  The parents had managed to get the baby in the pomegranate bush for the overnight.  Thank goodness. I watched all day, worrying that the little bird wouldn’t get any nourishment and could die.  Well, somehow, this teenager was learning how to spread his wings.  He kept getting a little higher air time all day long. 

By the end of the day my fears of emminant starvation were put to rest.  The parents had been feeding their offspring all day long. I caught this loving caring scene late in the afternoon. I got these pictures through my window.

robin1

robin2

Scenario: Do Not prune trees while birds nest.

10 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    This is such a touching story!! The pictures are great, too. I hope your arm is OK today. And you’ll be able to prune in a few days, which might set you back a little, but not much. Do keep us posted on how the little family is getting along. 😀

  2. 2

    supergranny said,

    Your little feathered family is charming! The closest interaction we get around here is trying to keep abreast of the “little white presents” that are left all over the car:) We have mulberry trees and they love to eat the fruit (although there is not many on the trees yet) and it just seems to make them “loose as a goose”:) SPLAT!!

    The Hummingbirds have arrived and are noisy, active and TERRITORIAL!

    Will be watching for your next chapter…..

  3. 3

    grouchow said,

    Thanks for the comments. Your comments are always so entertaining.

    Sun….. My head still hurts. That mama bird really put a knot up there. Looks like mom and pop are feeding him on the run now, I guess when his tail feathers come in, he will be on his own.

    SG…..I love humming birds. Have you ever seen the map that shows how they migrate? I didn’t know they could be noisy! They are so little. 🙂

  4. 4

    Fleapirates said,

    A’s, I am sorry that you suffered an injury, but what a great story! I had no idea that the parents would still tend to the young after they were out of the nest! Yay!

    Over the years we’ve seen that happen to a lot of little ones, mostly starlings, and they’ve always been abandoned. Had a couple that the kids tried to save, but without success. I can’t wait to tell them about your robin! 🙂

  5. 6

    thetikishak said,

    What a great story! Glad all turned out okay!!! We had a baby bluejay the neighbor brought to my son, she knows he LOVES animals and figured he would know what to do,lol. It had fallen out of a tree last summer. We live in a very wooded area with all kinds of critters that come out at night, including bobcats. My son took it in after dark on our screened porch in an old bird cage we had lying around. Amazingly, in the morning, the parents were sitting in a tree right next to our porch and would actually squawk like crazy when they heard the baby making noise, and every morning, my son would let the bird out and the parents would swoop down and feed it and protect it from cats and other birds all day. This went of for about a week, with us putting him inside every nite and releasing him to his parents every morning. Unbelievably, his parents never gave up, they waited in that tree every morning. We were amazed. Then one day, he was able to fly up to the lower tree branches, it was very cool to watch the progress it made every day!!!

    • 7

      grouchow said,

      That is just amazing, tiki! It always suprises me to hear such cool stories. You should post it in your blog too! Thanks for the post. 🙂

  6. 8

    victorious_rival said,

    What a great story! And I love the picture of the parent feeding the baby. 🙂

  7. 10

    Cute story! See, I check your stuff out.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

