Garden Journal – Chapter 23

Just thought I would give you an update on our Small City Garden. 

We had a pretty bad storm today. Lots of half inch to three quarter inch hail along with high winds. I was really worried that a lot of the fruit would fall off the trees but we got lucky with most of them.  The only real loss was to the plum tree.  I think that might have lost about ten per cent of the fruit but I am hoping that it was the weaker fruit.  I am thinking that the tree couldn’t have supported that much fruit.  The Plum tree was really loaded so my thought is that some fruit would not have made it through the season anyway.

These are the Azaleas in bloom. I have  them along the entire length of the driveway. They were really full this year.

Everything is just going crazy with fruit. Even my small Blueberry bush.

Peach tree is not far behind.  I do think I will have to do a spring trim of the new growth on all of the fruit trees. They are supposed to be dwarf and I don’t want them too big to control.

The Asian pear and the Apple are providing some nesting grounds for the birds as well.  With the lush new growth it gives them a nice cover.

Pear Tree

This is a picture of the nest in the Apple tree with the bird’s nest. Follow the red arrow.  I believe the apple condo has Cardinals renting.

Check out the fruit on the Damson Plum (which lost a few today).

Ok, so now I cannot forget my Pomegranate.  I have had real problems trying to identify first year’s growth from second year’s growth.  Apparently, only second year growth produces fruit.  Gardening tips I have found for pruning of this bush have said to only leave 3 main stalks.  I could go into mega details but the end result is that I have yet to get more than seven poms in a season.  So, last year I said the heck with all the directions and let the sucker just grow.  This is the second year of willy nilly growth.  All I have done this year is to remove dead wood.  We shall see what happens!  I hope it will be good.

I don’t sell fruit or veggies.  This is my source for healthy food and a way to save some money at the grocery.  I certainly know that it is not imported from a foreign country that does not regulate what their farmer’s use as pesticides!  My produce is pretty safe.  I haven’t seen any wild life “thieves” keel over yet!!  🙂

Click on the button below to visit my store.

Leave a Reply

