Poser on Television

This is so annoying!

I have a reasonably sized television.  The total screen space is approximately 16×13 inches, certainly, enough to have a comfortable view. 

When watching the news and many other shows I have to see a picture size that is about 10×14 inches and five or more commercials or crawlers at the bottom of the screen!!! It seems that the only time I get to see anything FULL screen any longer is if a commercial is playing.  I understand that many things view in HDT now but…  really…

Must the television media annoy us all with these constant little scrolling bands?  What is the point of buying a larger television screen if you still cannot view a full screen?

5 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    dragonmum2 said,

    Bwahahahahhah! You think anyone cares??? The Media?? Bwahahahahh!!!

    and now, if you plan to continue your TV habit, you will be forced to buy an HDTV with a larger screen – so you can see all that advertising stuff even better. I don’t remember when they figured out they could advertise during a show, but I remember when they even has credits that weren’t under the actors at the end of the show….

    Must make me old, huh?

    We definitely have intolerance of society’s stupidity in common!!

  2. 2

    grouchow said,

    Thanks for the post, it really made me laugh. 🙂

  3. 3

    Chvad said,

    I agree… These bars are called “lower thirds” which steadily becoming “lower halves” and it’s aggravating as fucking hell. ESPECIALLY considering they are also on CABLE which you PAY for and yet STILL have sit through commercial crap. This is a large part of why I don’t bother with TV at all anymore and just get DVD box sets of stuff I want to watch. Saves me the wait and the hassle… and ultimately some money as well.

  4. 4

    Yes, the advertising is annoying. That is why I don’t watch TV very much. Not to mention, I don’t care about other people’s lives. TV is a waste of time. The time my wife spends watching TV, I spend that time on the computer making money. You can’t make money watching TV. I am guessing it was sarcasm when you mentioned the size of your TV? If not, I suggest getting a larger TV. I have Samsung 50″ Plasma 1080p HDTV, and it was the best decision ever. I am about to go and get the Samsung 1080p with upconvert BluRay DVD Player. It is rather annoying on a small TV, but with a larger one you can still see what is going on.

  5. 5

    grouchow said,

    Hi Titleist,
    Thanks for your comments and, Yes, sarcasm is the appropriate word for what I was trying to discribe in my post. I am not happy with any size television, no matter how large, that consumes my screen with stupid (scrolling, static or annoying) ads that consume the size of the viewing area.

    I know that, some day, I will have to upgrade to a larger TV but I still don’t like the busy style of commercials that the networks place on the screen. For me it is very distracting. Which, of course, takes away from the pleasure of any news show that I choose to watch. 🙂


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

